How to abandon Synchronised Child Copies of Published Files
This FAQ and feature mentioned is only available for engagement files that are published onto Smart Sync Servers, or CaseWare Cloud that engages in multiple child copies to complete the engagement. When working on a published engagement file in your team, each user would download a child copy of this engagement file to complete their work. Changes are then subsequently synchronised to the parent copy that has been published.
However if these engagement files are not managed properly, multiple child copies would be stored, lost, or deleted. When these child copies (stored on user's computers) are lost, it is highly recommended that these child copies are abandoned to maintain a consistent file management and reduce any unnecessary confusion.
"Abandoning synchronised copies" that are lost, no longer used will assist in this matter.
What is it?
- Abandon synchronised copy allows the user to break the connection between the parent file and other child copies. This will allow CaseWare's parent copy to stop attempting to synchronise back to the lost child copy.
When do we use it?
- If you want to perform template update on your file, you can have only 1 child copy during the update process.
- If you want to lock down your file ( FAQ 305 ).
- If you want to clean up the engagement file.
How to do it?
1. From the ribbon, select Tools | in the Maintenance & Repair group > Maintenance.
2. Select the Abandon Synchronized Copies.
3. Click Next.
4. Select the appropriate child copy of the engagement file to remove. Be careful as to which one to select as this will be irreversible.
5. Select Next and Ok.
Make sure that the child copies you are abandoning has been 100% synchronised to the parent file. If this is not the case make every effort to contact the staff member before performing the abandon sync copy.